Musings…and Questions…

Spring has finally come to Ogden and it looks like it might be here to stay.  Temperatures are breaking the 70 degree mark fairly regularly now and after being bundled up through January and February, it feels good to cut loose and wear shorts.  The Ogden River Parkway is under water at about five different locations, but the trails on the flank of the Wasatch are dry and firm, if a little rutted.

Screen Shot 2017-03-17 at 8.33.02 AM

The local mountain biking resource is in great shape for mid-March.  It’s hard to believe how quickly it went from buried in snow to high and dry.

Screen Shot 2017-03-17 at 8.34.02 AM

It’s a different story in town.   All that snow has to go somewhere and local rivers are raging.

I rode my first century of the year this past Sunday.  If this year is like other years, it will also be my last century of the year.  I don’t ride many and I always ride them alone.  I typically feel really good through about 70 miles and then it’s just drudgery coming in. Metric centuries are more my thing.  Sixty miles or so just feels right.

Jan and I decided that we’re going to Iowa and maybe up into Minnesota this June.  We want to explore some of the trails to the north of Des Moines including the famed Raccoon River Trail.  As it turns out, there’s a 71 mile RAGBRAI training ride while we’re there.   It also has an interesting twist….bacon.  Who doesn’t like bacon?  I’m all in.

Screen Shot 2017-03-17 at 8.34.59 AM

Bacon and bicycles?  Yeah, why not!

Last, but not least, I’m questioning whether to continue on with this blog.  I don’t much feel like I’m changing anything, and all I really want to do is ride.  I’m going to ride regardless, even if I’m the last person on the planet to do so, and so  I’m curious to know what you all think.  Is there anything in particular you’d like to see here, or see more of, or even less of?  Let me know by leaving a comment or sending me an email message.   Enjoy your weekend.  Ride lots.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Musings…and Questions…

  1. I hope you continue this blog as I think it provides a great service. I share it with my nonbiking friends via Facebook in hopes of educating them to biker concerns.
    Please continue

    Like

Leave a Reply

