Chilly…But Worth It

I don’t know when riding in sub-freezing temperatures became normal to me but I can say with certainty that it now is.  It was cold today…19 -26 degrees with a pretty stiff wind.  It didn’t bother me even a little.  I just dress for it and throw some Carmex on my lips before heading out.  Why?  Mostly so that I can marvel at what I see along the way.

I mixed it up today.  I went downtown early and stayed up on Ogden’s East Bench later.  I brought a little pocket camera to take some pictures because my phone has been fogging up while riding.  It’s easier to zoom with the pocket camera, too.  I’m glad I brought it.

Mt. Ben from 1850 E just north of 20th Street.

Mt. Ben from 1850 E just north of 20th Street.  The spectacular uplift along the Wasatch Fault is clearly visible on the peak in the foreground.

Looking up Ogden Canyon from the same spot.

Looking up Ogden Canyon from the same spot.

I'm not sure this peak has a name.  We can see it from our kitchen window and I marvel at its ruggedness.

I’m not sure this peak has a name. We can see it from our kitchen window and I marvel at its ruggedness.

It was snowing on Mt. Ogden.  That's good. Snowbasin ski area is on the backside of the far peak.

It was snowing on Mt. Ogden. That’s good. Snowbasin ski area is on the backside of the far peak.

Another car free day!

Another car free day!

It’s sometimes easy to forget just how spectacular our mountain backdrop is here in Ogden.  The Wasatch are as dramatic as any rangein the western US with one or two exceptions.  From a cyclist’s perspective it’s amazing to have this resource so close.  I know that there are some great places to ride in other western towns, but I don’t know of any other place where you can ride to commuter rail and then be on singletrack a few minutes later.  I think that makes us somewhat unique.

Maybe someday I’ll get bored with all of this awesomeness.  It has happened before but I was younger then and a little more impulsive…at least that’s the way I see it now.  If so, there’s not much I can do about it.  What I can do is enjoy it while I have it.  That’s what I’m doing and it really doesn’t matter how cold it gets.

Leave a Reply

