Bike League Advocate Survey Results

The League of American Bicyclists recently surveyed bicycle advocates from coast to coast with an eye toward identifying the most pressing issues surrounding cycling as active transportation from the perspective of those who (arguably) cycle the most.  I wanted to share the results with you both in detail and summarized form.

The primary issues identified by the League are as follows:

  • Connected infrastructure networks
  • Distracted driving
  • Education -both of cyclists and the public
  • Public input into transportation planning
  • Positioning incentives to favor cycling and discourage motoring

You can view the detailed presentation results here.

screen-shot-2016-09-27-at-10-16-29-am

I thought it might be fun to dissect these results in terms of my experience as a vehicular cyclist in Ogden Utah.  Over the course of the next week or so, I’ll  tackle each one of these issues from my own perspective.   I think there’s great value in hearing your thoughts, both pro and con, on each of the issues.  I  hope you’ll continue to share with me.  You add so much to the discussion.

I’ll post the first article in the series  (connectivity) no later than tomorrow morning.

Thank you.

One thought on “Bike League Advocate Survey Results

  1. Pingback: Building Connected Networks | Bike 5

Leave a Reply

