All Around the Town

I had a little Bike Fiving to do after work today.  I needed to go by my favorite bike shop to return a pair of crimps they accidentally gave me when they swapped out the brakes on my road bike.  From there it was on to the bank to deposit a little mailbox money and then I had to make a quick Walmart stop (I know, I know) to pick up a couple of consumer staples.  I don’t really much care for Walmart, except that every time I go there I see about five or six bikes in the racks and that warms the cockles of my heart.

Walt Wilkins, one of my favorite songwriters, one wrote "I've got nothing to do, and I'm not leaving 'til I'm done."  That fits.

Walt Wilkins, one of my favorite songwriters, one wrote “I’ve got nothing to do, and I’m not leaving ’til I’m done.” That fits.

I like these trips because this is what it’s all about.  We moved to Ogden so that I could do this sort of thing and actually doing it feels really, really good.  I’m making a difference in my own small way.  I’m living MY dream.

But it wasn’t enough.  The round trip was only about ten miles and since I’m training for the Tour of the Moon at the end of next week I wanted to go further.  I wanted to climb.  Seriously.  So I did.  I got home, dropped off my wallet and the Walmart crapola, switched bikes and headed out again with no particular destination in mind.

Scenic Route?  Stop messin' with me, Ogden!

Scenic Route? Stop messin’ with me, Ogden!

Grant Street, downtown.  Lots of Bike Fiving goin' on in O town.

Grant Street, downtown. Lots of Bike Fiving goin’ on in O town.

Awesome western clouds.  40s coming!

Awesome western clouds. 40s coming!

This is probably gonna sound a little weird but sometimes  I just let the bike go where it wants to go.  It’s a little game we play…me and the bike.  I hold the bars loosely and let it decide.  It never steers me wrong.

In fact, I’ve gotten to know Ogden more fully than any place I’ve ever lived (and I’ve lived a lot of places) by playing this little game.  I’ve been down in the barrios, up on the benches and just about everywhere in between.  I’ve met a lot of people.  Today I met the cross country team from St. Joseph High School.  Nice kids, one and all.  Super polite.  Don’t let anyone tell you kids these days don’t have manners.

Even riding the power lines rocks...

Even riding the power lines rocks…

Wandering aimlessly around town on a bicycle is generally frowned upon by our frenetic society, but that’s society’s problem, not mine.  Sometimes you go further when you set out with no destination in mind.  You get to know your city by letting it come to you.   That’s no small thing.

Ride on.

 

Leave a Reply

