Loving Fat (Tires)

I crashed my Kona Rove a couple of weeks ago and am in the process of building up a new one.  The Rove is a gravel grinder, but I call it my road bike.  I run relatively wide tires on it so that I can handle potholes and some of the other challenges that vehicular cycling throws at me but it’s still my “go fast” bike.

Ogden is a joyride. I'm on the Kingfisher Loop just minutes from downtown. There's gravel and sand and this insane 13% grade to climb here and this bike does it all.

Ogden is a joyride. I’m on the Kingfisher Loop just minutes from downtown. There’s gravel and sand and this insane 13% grade to climb here and this bike just handles it all and says “let’s go get some groceries before heading home.”

Since the Rove has been out of commission, I’ve been riding my Surly Instigator  all over town and back.  I don’t go nearly as fast  on this bike as I do on the Kona, but that’s okay because everywhere I go people want me to stop and talk with them.   They’re drawn to this bike, and I’ve made a lot of new friends while out on it.

IMG_20160722_060857614

The Instigator isn’t really a fat bike but the tires are bigger than traditional mountain bike tires and so when people see it they assume it is.  It’s a pretty versatile riding machine that will go just about anywhere you point it.  I like that I can transition from city streets to mountain singletrack without giving it a second thought.   It’s nice not having to worry about being perpendicular to railroad tracks before crossing.  Road cracks?  What road cracks?  It’s an absolute hoot to ride over curbs, logs and other things that would cause roadie me to dismount.  I even took it down some stairs.  OK, it was just two stairs, but still…

They're not really fat tires, but everybody who sees them thinks they are.

They’re not really fat tires, but everybody who sees them thinks they are.

We're even going fatter on the Kona....38 mm Schwalbes.

The skinnier tires on my Kona.  

And so I was intrigued when a story came across my desk from the mountain biking website Singletracks that tried to answer the question of how much more work it is to mountain bike than road bike.  One of the factors was tire width.  Fatter tires are typically run at lower pressure and that creates significantly more rolling resistance which, in turn, requires more effort on the part of the cyclist.

As I read the article I realized it simply does not matter to me.    I’ve never thought of cycling as work…not once.  I’m not training for the Tour so it’s not about VO2 max,  optimal cadence and PEDs.  It’s about riding down stairs with this big old goofy grin on my face. It’s about feeling great instead of being all stressed out.  To me, being on a bike is about as good a time as someone can have without ending up in jail.  Jail is messy and expensive…at least that’s what I’ve been told.  Cycling is just plain fun and it doesn’t seem to much matter how wide the tires are.

In fact, I’m starting to think of the Instigator as my new Jeep Wrangler.   Jan and I had a Wrangler  years ago when we lived in Colorado.  It was loads of fun but stuff kept breaking on it and every time something broke it cost another $349 more or less to get it fixed.   I quickly came to discover that this was a big part of “The Jeep Experience” and one of the reasons that many Jeepers (not all) drink Keystone Light instead of craft beer.

A Jeep Wrangler will go just about anywhere, but most people keep theirs on the road most of the time and we did, too.  Given that, it makes perfect sense to cruise around town on the Instigator.  I can still take the long way home if I want to.

It's like a Jeep without insurance and the Chrysler quality control problems.

It’s like a Jeep without insurance and the Chrysler quality control problems.  It goes everywhere I want to go.

It’s starting to occur to me that maybe fat tires are a better choice for vehicular cycling than their skinnier cousins.  They’re more forgiving of road hazards.  They’re more stable.  They don’t seem to go flat (kiss of death, I know) as often.  I think they look tough and maybe that sends a subtle message to motorists not to mess with the old man…especially if the old man is not wearing lycra.

Maybe not, too.  It doesn’t matter.  Either way is fine.  The best bike is the one that’s the most fun to ride, and right now I’m having the time of my life riding the bike with the big tires all over town.  I feel like a kid again. It almost makes me feel sorry for all those stressed out motorists in their $50,000 vehicles waiting for their $40 emissions test.

Almost…

4 thoughts on “Loving Fat (Tires)

  1. Awesome post. I currently own a Cannondale Trail 6 MTB but in September I’m picking up a KHS 4 Seasons 500 Fat Bike for the Colorado winters/whatever else. I rode a Specialized Fatboy awhile back and loved it and decided whenever I get the opportunity to get a fat bike I would and this is the time!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cool. I like that area. I originally moved to Denver before there was a Highlands Ranch, so I’ve watched it grow over the years. If you ever find yourself in Ogden, let me know and we’ll go riding.

    Like

Leave a Reply

