An Everyday Thing

I like to get into work a little early, before the hustle and bustle of the day kicks into high gear.  There are a few other folks here who feel the same.  I ran into one of them this morning and he asked me if I was using the nice weather as an excuse to get out on my bicycle.

IMG_20160313_121240754

I told him that I was, and then I added that I’ve ridden every day this year.  I have.  Eighty nine out of eighty nine days.  He shook his head and chuckled.  “Amazing” he said.

Not really.  It’s mostly just habit at this point.  Besides there are lots of other things I do every day…things like eating, sleeping breathing.  I’d easily surpassed my mileage goals for the last two years and was bored with the idea of just riding more, so I determined that I’d challenge myself in a different way this year.  I decided that I wouldn’t worry about how far I went.  Instead, I’d just cycle every day come rain, sleet, snow, sunshine, wind, more wind, even more wind, whatever.

Why not?  Cycling makes me feel better.  There have been a number of days so far where I sort of had to drag myself onto the bike.  Last night was like that.  I had decided that I’d only go five or ten miles but two miles in I already felt better than I had when I started.  Twenty six miles later, I felt great.  I knew this would happen. It happens all the time.  It wasn’t a surprise.

I’ve also started tracking how I use my bicycle for transportation.  Since doing so, I’ve taken 73% of all trips of five miles or less by bicycle instead of car.  Is this a big deal?  I don’t know. I suppose it is in some ways but it doesn’t feel like a big deal now and that is the whole idea.

Bicycling is normal and natural.  It is a fundamentally more sound and respectful way to move around. It requires no troops overseas to protect the energy supply chain. It creates no environmental damage.  These things are important to me.  I wish they were important to everyone, but it’s not my business to lecture anyone about how they should live their lives.  My hands are full worrying about how Bob lives his life.

But I feel very strongly that my life is mine to live on my own terms and that’s exactly what I’m doing.  My rules…nobody else’s.  Yeah, I ride everyday.  It’s no big deal.  It’s just who I am now.  You can do it, too…if you want to.  I hope you will.  It all starts with one ride.  So saddle up.  Rediscover the magic of cycling.  It will likely change your life, just as it has changed mine.

Leave a Reply

