My Bike 5 Ogden Report Card

Jan and I drove to IKEA in Draper yesterday.  It’s located on the far south end of Salt Lake City somewhere in an endless stream of suburbs that all look alike…pretty much like suburbs everywhere.  The air was terrible. My throat hurt.  My eyes burned.  I felt a little guilty about being in the car and I wanted out.  Anywhere but there.

I’m glad we chose to move to Ogden.  This is my third trip here since December.  I’ve been cycling every day no matter what Mother Nature throws at me.  I just love being on the bike, so it isn’t a chore even if it’s cold and snowing or if the inversion is bearing down from above.

Even though I’ve only been here for a short while, I’ve cycled just about everywhere there is to go in Ogden.  Increasingly, I’m coming to realize that everything I need to live well is accessible by bicycle here.  In fact, I’ve used Google Maps to lay it all out.  I pull it up when I begin to doubt that this is going to work.  Just looking at it makes me feel better.   This is going to work…no doubt.  I need to stop worrying so much.

My Bike 5 life.  Everywhere I need to go is accessible by bicycle.  Everywhere.

My Bike 5 life. Everywhere I need to go is accessible by bicycle. Everywhere.

Here’s what the map shows.  The purple lines are routes I’ve ridden.  I like purple and my goal is to make the entire map one big purple blob.   I suspect that will happen soon enough.  The red star is home.  The other icons are grocery stores, restaurants, hardware stores, movie theatres and other places I’ve passed while on my bicycle.  Most of them are places we’ve already been or plan to go.  Here’s a partial list:

Grocery Stores – Full Service

  • Fresh Market-12st and Harrison
  • Smiths-12th and Harrison
  • Walmart-20th and Wall
  • Winco-12th and Wall
  • Macy’s – 36th and Washington
  • Smith’s – 42nd and Harrison
  • Wansgard’s – 5 Points
  • Walmart Neighborhood Market – Skyline Drive
  • Fresh Market-South Harrison

Hardware/Home

  • South Fork Hardware – 21st and Harrison
  • Home Depot – Wall Avenue
  • Lowe’s – North Washington
  • Shopko-10th and Washington

Restaurants

  • Rosa’s – 26th and Washington
  • Slackwater – Washington
  • Zhang’s Chopsticks – Harrison
  • Lucky Slice – 25th Street
  • McCools – 25th Street
  • Farr Better Ice Cream – 21st, Downtown
  • Pig and a Jelly Jar – 25th, Downtown
  • The Sonora Grill – 23rd, Downtown
  • In and Out Burger – Riverdale Road

Bakeries/Coffee Houses

  • Old Grist Mill Bread Company – 2nd Street
  • Daily Rise- Washington
  • Starbucks-12th and Washington
  • Starbucks-South Harrison

Entertainment

  • Cine Pointe 6 – 12th Street
  • Front Climbing Club – 20th Street, Downtown
  • Solomon Center/iFly – Downtown
  • Megaplex Theatres at the Junctin – Downtown
  • Movie Grille – Downtown
  • Union Station Musems – Downtown
  • Peery’s Egyptian Theatre – Downtown
  • Raptor’s Baseball-Downtown
  • WSU Collegiate Sports – WSU Campus
  • Mount Ogden Golf Course – South Taylor
  • El Monte Golf Course – Valley Drive
  • Ogden Trail System/Bonneville Shoreline Trail
  • Ogden City Greenway

Business

  • City Hall – Downtown
  • Bank – Downtown
  • Water Department – South Wall

Employment Centers

  • Downtown Ogden
  • Weber State University
  • Business Depot Ogden
  • Internal Revenue Service
The Ogden Business Depot located west of Wall Avenue between 2nd and 12th Streets is a job factory and easily accessible from most of central Ogden.

Business Depot Ogden located west of Wall Avenue between 2nd and 12th Streets is a job factory and easily accessible from most of central Ogden.

Tour de Depot.  This is a really cool area with fun architecture and lots of jobs...all accessible by bicycle.

Tour de Depot. This is a really cool area with fun architecture and lots of jobs…all accessible by bicycle.

Bicycles

  • Skyline Cycle – Washington
  • Ogden Bicycle Collective-28th Street
  • Second Tracks – 12th and Harrison
  • Big 5 Sports – 10th and Wall

That’s a pretty impressive list, don’t you think?  It’s big enough to keep a guy like me busy for awhile.  No car is required…just a bicycle.  That was the whole idea of moving here.  It was a good idea back when we thought of it.  It’s a better idea now.

We have protected bike lanes on Grant Street downtown.

We have protected bike lanes on Grant Street downtown.

But most of my riding is on city streets.  Ogden is blessed with a grid of wide, low speed streets.

But most of my riding is on city streets like South Adams.  Ogden is blessed with a grid of wide, low speed streets that make it a breeze to move around town.

When the road narrows, reasonable speed limits give cyclists like me a fighting chance.

When the road narrows, reasonable speed limits give cyclists like me a fighting chance.

We were right about this.  I can go pretty much anywhere I want to go in Ogden Utah from my house without ever driving a car.  Every day is a little easier.  I’ve proven it to myself and that is half the battle.  Actually, it’s all the battle.  Riding a bike to work isn’t work.  It’s pure joy.

And best of all, it’s only going to get better.  I’m surrounded by people who understand why it is so important to change the way we move around.  They understand what is at stake.  Even those who don’t cycle are courteous and decent.  They don’t try to scare me off the road.  They stop behind the white lines and let me cross when it’s my turn.  Thank you, one and all.

We have an incredible mayor and group of stakeholders (too many to name) in Ogden who give selflessly of themselves to make our community better.  There will be setbacks, but we are moving forward and it feels really, really good.   I am so excited to be a part of this community.  Thank you to those who have welcomed Jan and I.  Thank you, Ogden.  You rock.  You really do.  Let’s ride.

2 thoughts on “My Bike 5 Ogden Report Card

Leave a Reply

