My New (Old) Icebike

When I got the crazy idea to tune up my old Specialized Hardrock last spring I had no idea what I was getting myself into.  New cables were a given and the teeth on the big chainring in front were worn to the point where the chain was slipping, so I knew that I’d have to swap that out, too.

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 12.19.42 PM

2000 Specialized Hardrock with standard fork.  This year’s Icebike.

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 12.20.54 PM

Originally, I was only going to replace these cables and the crank.  Yeah, right.

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 12.20.07 PM

The rear derailleur and wheel are original.  Most everything else is new.

Rebuilding bikes is not something I do all the time.  In fact, this was the first time I’ve ever done it so I read up and learned a lot along the way.  I discovered that when you replace the crank you should also replace the chain and rear cassette, too.  Since I had the crank off anyway, I decided a swap out the bottom bracket, too.  One thing led to another and all of the sudden Amazon was delivering new shifters and brake arms as well.

I went with low end components.  It’s an old bike and I didn’t want to spend a fortune on it since it was my first rebuild.  It’s done now, though, and I’m pretty happy with it.  It rides well. Everything works as it should.  It even looks pretty good.

I plan to use it as an icebike to do my Bike 5ing around Ogden for the next few weeks.  We’ll see how it does.  I rode this bike through most of last winter in Indiana.  It was a brutal winter and it came through just fine.  I fell a few times, but never seriously.  I don’t know yet how it will do under load but I won’t be carrying more than a few bags of groceries at a time so it should be just fine.

Long term, I think I would like a single speed setup for an icebike.  Salt and sand and slush and ice really do a number on gears and derailleurs.  Ogden is somewhat hilly, but I like the elegant simplicity of a single speed and there is a bit of a weight advantage so…

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving.  I did.   It remains one of my favorite holidays. I’m still riding a lot of miles, which is a real bonus heading into December.  It has been crazy warm for this time of year in central Indiana. I plan to ride the fire roads at Happy Jack near Laramie as well as the Bob Kerrey bridge in Omaha on my way to Ogden.  I’ll post pictures in a few days.

Be safe.  Happy Trails.

 

Leave a Reply

