Deal of the Day: Bern Helmet at REI Outlet

It’s not often I make buying recommendations and I’m not going to break form to make one today, but I do want to let you know about a deal I found online that’s worth considering.

REI Outlet has this spiffy Bern helmet at the hard-to-beat price of $23.73. Retail is $59.99 so it’s not top of the line but it’s not a bad helmet either.  I priced it on Google and the next best price is $36.99 at Evo.com and I don’t know who they are.  REI?  I know them.   It’s a closeout so it’s only available in medium or large…satin white.

Bern's Macon - $23.73 at REI Outlet while supplies last.

Bern’s Macon – $23.73 at REI Outlet while supplies last.

According to Bern’s website, the Macon is a multisport helmet, at home on the bike trail or road as well as the ski slopes.  There are two versions of this helmet so be careful if you decide to buy one.  The EPS model is certified ASTM F 2040 (snow sports), CPSC (cycling)  and EN 1084 (European Standard).   There’s another model called the Macon Hardhat that is not certified.  As the name implies, it’s nothing more than a hard hat that might look cool but offers no protection in the event of a fall.  REI’s website identifies their product as the  certified model.

I bought one this morning because I’m looking for a helmet that isn’t over-ventilated and will give my head a fighting chance of staying warm this winter.  Bern knows a little about that since they’re born and bred in Massachussetts.  This will be a little more comfortable than my fully ventilated Louis Garneau helmet.  An additional plus is the look…kinda cool if you ask me.  At first I wasn’t thrilled about Satin White but then I thought about it and realized that I can throw all sorts of reflective tape on it and it will actually look pretty good.  Maybe I should get some Bike 5 stickers made up and slapped on it as well.  Hmmmm.

If you want one, here’s the link.  I’m not sure how long they’ll last but there are some other pretty good deals to be had there as well.  Happy shopping, Bike 5ers!

2 thoughts on “Deal of the Day: Bern Helmet at REI Outlet

Leave a Reply

