If You’re Not Cycling, You’re Cheating Yourself

A LinkedIn connection posted this infographic this morning.  I wanted to share it with you.

0c7b25c1-600e-4b7d-a407-fc2e2278b1a1-original

It’s all true.  I know, because I spend more than 60 minutes on the bike virtually every single day now.  It’s as much a part of my life as eating or breathing.

When we move to Ogden and I use my bike as my primary source of transportation, the way I ride will change.  Instead of one long ride, I’ll be making lots of shorter trips..maybe as many as three or four per day.  I’ll still spend over 60 minutes a day on the bike, it will just be spent differently.

That’s cool.  There’s no right or wrong way to do this.  There’s no official uniform.  No lycra is required.  No fancy apps to track distance.  Nada.  All that is required is a bicycle.   Ride whatever you want as long as it has two wheels (or three) and a chain (or a Gates carbon belt drive).  This isn’t difficult.  It doesn’t have to be expensive.  The object of it all is health, wellness and fun.  You could use that, right?

Tangible benefits begin to accrue immediately with the first downstroke.  You’re better off going around the block than not doing anything at all. Ten minutes in and life is significantly better.  Last the whole hour and life begins to change in dramatic ways.

So just ride.

Leave a Reply

